fbpx
Press Releases

ERLC set to host event in response to Supreme Court’s same-sex marriage decision

/
May 4, 2015

NASHVILLE, Tenn., May 4, 2015The Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention will host a special event, live broadcasted via stream, July 29, in response to the U.S. Supreme Courts upcoming ruling on same-sex marriage.

Pastors and leaders from the Southern Baptists of Texas Convention will gather for the “Equip Austin”:https://erlc.com/equipaustin event in-person at The Austin Stone Community Church, an SBC congregation in Austin, Texas. Event speakers will seek to equip Christians and churches to be faithful in engaging the culture with the gospel in a post-marriage society.

Speakers include:

“Russell Moore,”:http://russellmoore.com/ President, ERLC

“Rosaria Butterfield,”:http://rosariabutterfield.com/ Author, Secret Thoughts of an Unlikely Convert and Openness Unhindered

“Matt Carter,”:http://austinstone.org/about/people/1—matt-carter Lead Pastor,The Austin Stone Community Church

“Jackie Hill Perry,”:http://www.humblebeast.com/jackie-hill/ Poet, Humble Beast Artist

“Matt Chandler,”:http://www.thevillagechurch.net/about/matt-chandler/ Lead Pastor, The Village Church

“Jim Richards,”:http://sbtexas.com/about-sbtc/jim-richards/ Executive Director, Southern Baptist of Texas Convention

“Mike Goeke,”:http://www.fbcsf.org/#/about-us/staff Associate Pastor, First Baptist Church of San Francisco

Commenting on the conference, Moore said:

The Supreme Court will soon decide whether states can legally choose to define marriage as the union of one man and one woman. It is a watershed moment in our nations history. But regardless of whether our lands highest court recognizes the unchangeable or not, we will hold steadfast. Even more, regardless of the decision, the church will have to learn to engage a culture with the gospel in which we cannot assume people share our same understanding of marriage. As we seek to equip churches for this task Im thrilled to partner with this exceptional band of leaders at this event to think through what gospel faithfulness looks like in our ever-changing culture.

The conference will stream live. Follow the conversation on Twitter by following “ERLC”:https://twitter.com/erlc, “drmoore”:https://twitter.com/drmoore and #ERLCequip.

“Registration”:https://erlc.com/equipaustin/registration/ is now open and speaker information can be found “online.”:https://erlc.com/equipaustin

The Southern Baptist Convention is Americas largest Protestant denomination with more than 15.8 million members in over 46,000 churches nationwide. The Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission is the SBCs ethics, religious liberty and public policy agency with offices in Nashville, Tenn., and Washington, D.C.

– END –

To request an interview with Russell Moore

contact Elizabeth Bristow at 202-547-0209

or by e-mail at [email protected]

Visit our Web site at www.erlc.com

Follow us on Twitter at @ERLC

Elizabeth Bristow

Elizabeth Bristow serves as the Press Secretary for the ERLC. Elizabeth oversees press and media operations for the organization and also coordinates marketing and advertising for ERLC events. Elizabeth received a B.A. in Public Relations and Marketing from Union University in 2010. She and her husband have one son. Read More by this Author